Please note: if an earlier link doesn't work, it may have changed following an update! Check the Category Labels in the side-bar on the right! There you can find animator drafts for sixteen complete Disney features and eighty-six shorts,
as well as Action Analysis Classes and many other vintage animation documents!

Tuesday, June 13, 2006

The How of Credits

These are the mid 1940's (after the 1941 strike). When the animation is done, a group called the Screen Credit Comittee, chosen for one year by their peers, choses three animators and an effects animator to receive screen credit on the particular short.
In 1945, the Character comittee exists of Eric Larson, John Lounsbery and Hal King, with Hugh Fraser, Marc Davis and Ollie Johnston as alternates. The Efx committee was Andy Engman, with George Rowley as alternate.
The "lucky" animators to receive screen credit were notified thus:
You got credit!< Click on it!



Anonymous Michael Sporn says...

This is such a wonderful piece of arcana. I've learned something today an am delighted - the Screen Credit Commitee! Thank you for sharing it with us; I love it.

Wednesday, June 14, 2006 at 4:40:00 AM PDT  
Anonymous Mark Mayerson says...

I'm curious about 'position 3.' Was this determined by footage? By importance of shots to the film? Was it a rotating position?

Wednesday, June 14, 2006 at 7:36:00 AM PDT  
Anonymous Hans Perk says...

I would suspect that footage came into play, but I'm not certain. It may be more political than that. (Anyone?)
As far as I remember, position 3 is bottom left. Position 4, bottom right, was reserved for the effects animator.

Wednesday, June 14, 2006 at 11:00:00 AM PDT  

Post a Comment

<< Home